top of page

Spring Summer 2021 Wardrobe Planning

Updated: Apr 26, 2021


It's that time of the year, again! All the brands have started campaigning for their SS2021 collection and they have so many new eye-catching and trendy items lined up.


Fashion, to me, means evolving within your own niche. Two years ago, I purged my entire closet and started rebuilding it from scratch, with good-quality basics. Now that I've achieved a basic wardrobe with quality staples, I'm keeping an eye out for statement pieces that bring variety and dimension. This spring, I find myself interested in certain textures, themes, colors, and cuts.


Here's a list of trends I've been eyeing lately. Now keep in mind that trends come and go, so you're allowed to pick and choose the trends you wanna jump into. A lot of times, we feel outdated and irrelevant if we don't jump on the bandwagon quickly, but it doesn't have to be that way. It really depends on your taste and preference. Now, let's get into it:


1. A pleated skirt


I would describe my taste in fashion as minimal and neutral, so I find it hard to add tons of variety into my wardrobe. But texture is a GREAT way to add bring flair to a minimalist wardrobe, and lately, pleats have been all the rage.


I first saw pleats come back in style last Fall. I was out for a walk when I saw this woman style a trench coat and blouse with a midi black pleated skirt and I instantly did a double take. She styled it so beautifully that I was super inspired in the moment and I still haven't forgotten about it. So this summer, I am totally looking forward to adding a midi, black pleated skirt to the collection. I love the texture and dimension it brings to an outfit. You can take it a step further by getting pleated skirts in breathable knit or satin fabrics.


2. Romantic blouses/dresses


Last summer, romantic blouses DOMINATED the fashion industry and I was here for it. I mean I didn't buy it...but I was here for it. I took my sweet time to find out how much I like the trend, and a whole year later, I officially decided that it's my thing. The lettuce hem, the puff sleeves, the femininity and elegance, the main character vibes - all of these traits have captivated my attention and I'm definitely going to be adding a piece to the wardrobe this summer. Will it be a blouse? Will it be a dress? Not sure at the moment, but I'm looking forward to getting one or the other for sure.


3. Pearls


We've been loving gold in 2020. She's added some pizzazz to our basic and bare-minimum outfits. But this year, I'm seeing pearls get some love. Maybe it's the Bridgerton effect? Maybe it's inspired by the return of romantic clothing? Either way, they're super elegant!


3. Darker colors


We know, we know...darker colors in the fall and winter and lighter colors in the spring and summer. But can we switch it up a little bit? I'm seeing summer trends with breathable black skirts and dresses coming around and they look so good! We love black pieces because they're edgy and sexy, but they can also be light and flowy when styled appropriately.





Similarly, I'm seeing brown becoming more of a thing lately. When I say brown, I don't mean camel. I mean mocha/coffee brown. Being a neutrals enthusiast, I can see myself adding coffee brown shades. I'm also a big fan of warm-toned neutrals as opposed to colder neutrals. Earthy tones like beige, camel, and brown catch my attention easily so I'm definitely loving this trend.


4. Pistachio green & Lilac


Over the past couple of years, people have gotten so comfortable with neutral clothing that they don't want to move away from the regular schmegular beige & camel. It's me. I'm people. But I'm slowly noticing warm-tone beiges become a thing of the past and a thirst for other colors that give a similar, sophisticated feel. Lately, I'm seeing colors like sage, pistachio green, olive & lilac become increasingly popular. I'm actually surprised to see lilac/lavender gaining more popularity. Maybe it's the 90's influence? At this point, I'm not entire sure if I'll be jumping on the soft green and lilac trend but I'm definitely intrigued. Who knows...maybe I just need another year to make the decision!


58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join My Mailing List

Thanks for submitting!

Instagram@saneea_m​

© 2023 by Saneea Mustafa​. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page